C. R. McBerny

Wednesday 27 February 2019
6.00pm to 8.00pm
Launch of ‘C. R. McBerny’
Manchester Central Library

5 December 2018 to 28 February 2019
Manchester Central Library

C. R. McBerny is a collaborative project that explores how contemporary painting, performance and writing might produce overtly emotional and demonstrative forms of discourse between intimate communities of artists and writers in Germany, the United States and the United Kingdom. Discrete objects and texts have been produced with a relaxed, informal, easy aestheticism in mind, one conducive to the warm non-institutional semi-domestic nature of each venue.

Performances, lectures, workshops and concerts will be included in C. R. McBerny’s activities, while a publication will be launched in February 2019, produced by Slimvolume (London), and distributed worldwide by Cornerhouse Publications (Manchester).

Participating artists for 2018 include: Rosa Aiello, Magnus Andersen, Abel Auer, Kamilla Bischoff, Juliette Blightman, Michael Bracewell, Zac Bradley, Max Brand, Kerstin Brätsch, Tim Brennan, Sara Constantino, Matt Copson, Jeffrey Dennis, Simon Denny, Martin Ebner, Jenny Eden, Ida Ekblad, Exael, Peter Friel, Malcolm Garrett, Jonathan Gean, Rochelle Goldberg, Paul Gondry, Doris Guo, Hacienda Books, Ian Hartshorne, Donna Huddleston, Yannic Joray, Marie Karlberg, Allison Katz, Yuki Kishino, Kitty Kraus, Veit Laurent Kurz, Zarah Landes, Matt Langan-Peck, David Lawrey and Jaki Middleton, Jonas Lipps, Alastair MacKinven, Roger Malbert, Lin May-Saeed, Dawn Mellor, Alexandra Metcalf, Ariane Müller, Mike Nelson, David Osbaldeston, Krista Peters, Seth Pick, Leah Pires, Mike Pollard, Magnus Quaife, Eileen Quinlan, Ian Rawlinson and Nick Crowe, Cameron Rowland, Benjamin Saurer, Max Schmidtlein, Ben Schumacher, Taketo Shimada, Amy Sillman, Nora Schultz, Eric Sidner, Brook Sinkinson Withrow, Julian Stahlbom, Harry Stevenson Miller, Stefan Tcherepnin, Stefan Thater, Hanna Törnudd, Myna Trustram, Miriam Vacizki, Ellie de Verdier, David Weiss, Issy Wood, and Amelie von Wulffen.